Jan 28, 2013

7th Asian Film Awards Nominees


The 2013 Asian Film Awards will be happening in Hong Kong on March 18. The Asian Film Awards are presented annually by the Hong Kong International Film Festival Society to recognize the excellence of the film professionals in the film industries in Asia. The 7th Asian Film Awards will include 30 films from 9 countries and regions.

This year’s most nominations are: Korean film “Nameless Gangster” directed by Yoon Jong-bin; and Chinese film “Mystery” directed by Lou Ye – each film is nominated in 6 different categories.

The members of the jury for this year are:

Andy Lau (Hong Kong)
Ronald Arguelles (Philippines)
John Badalu (Indonesia)
Patricia Cheng (Hong Kong)
Kenji Ishizaka (Japan)
Christian Jeune (France)
Dai Jinhua (China)
Eric Khoo (Singapore)
Kong Rithdee (Thailand)
Wen Tien-hsiang (Taiwan)
Jacob Wong (Hong Kong)

Below are the nominees for this year:

Best Film
‘Drug War’ (Mainland China)
‘Gangs of Wasseypur, Part 1 & 2′ (India)
‘Mystery’ (Mainland China)
‘Outrage Beyond’ (Japan)
‘Pieta’ (South Korea)

Best Director
Anurag Kashyap, ‘Gangs of Wasseypur, Part 1 & 2′ (India)
Abbas Kiarostami, ‘Like Someone in Love’ (Japan/France/Iran)
Kim Ki-duk, ‘Pieta’ (South Korea)
Takeshi Kitano, ‘Outrage Beyond’ (Japan)
Lou Ye, ‘Mystery’ (Mainland China)

Best Actor
Joseph Chang, ‘GF*BF’ (Taiwan)
Choi Min-sik, ‘Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time’ (South Korea)
Eddie Garcia, ‘Bwakaw’ (Philippines)
Tony Leung Ka-fai, ‘Cold War’ (Hong Kong)
Liu Ye, ‘The Last Supper’ (Mainland China)

Best Actress
Nora Aunor, ‘Thy Womb’ (Philippines)
Cho Min-soo, ‘Pieta’ (South Korea)
Golshifteh Farahani, ‘The Patience Stone’ (Afghanistan)
Gwei Lun-mei, ‘GF*BF’ (Taiwan)
Hao Lei, ‘Mystery’ (Mainland China)

Best Newcomer
Chien Man-shu, ‘When a Wolf Falls in Love With a Sheep’ (Taiwan)
Masahiro Higashide, ‘The Kirishima Thing’ (Japan)
Huang Yu-siang, ‘Touch of the Light’ (Taiwan)
Kim Sung-kyun, ‘Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time’ (South Korea)
Qi Xi, ‘Mystery’ (Mainland China)

Best Supporting Actor
Ha Jung-woo, ‘Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time’ (South Korea)
Ryo Kase, ‘Like Someone in Love’ (Japan/France/Iran)
Nawazuddin Siddiqui, ‘The Answer Lies Within’ (India)
Chapman To, ‘Diva’ (Hong Kong)
Rhydian Vaughan, ‘GF*BF’ (Taiwan)

Best Supporting Actress
Jun Ji-hyun, ‘The Thieves’ (South Korea)
Kim Hye-soo, ‘The Thieves’ (South Korea)
Li Lieh, ‘Together’ (Taiwan)
Qin Lan, ‘The Last Supper’ (Mainland China)
Makiko Watanabe, ‘Capturing Dad’ (Japan)

Best Screenwriter
Anand Gandhi, ‘Ship of Theseus’ (India)
Kohei Kiyasu, Daihachi Yoshida, ‘The Kirishima Thing’ (Japan)
Mei Feng, Yu Fan, Lou Ye, ‘Mystery’ (Mainland China)
Wai Ka-fai, Yau Nai-hoi, Ryker Chan, Yu Xi, ‘Drug War’ (Mainland China)
Yun Jong-bin, ‘Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time’ (South Korea)

Best Cinematographer
Touraj Aslani, ‘Rhino Season’ (Iraqi Kurdistan/Turkey)
Choi Young-hwan, ‘The Thieves’ (South Korea)
Rajeev Ravi, ‘Gangs of Wasseypur, Part 1 & 2′ (India)
Katsumi Yanagijima, ‘Like Someone in Love’ (Japan/France/Iran)
Zhang Li, Ma Cheng, ‘The Last Supper’ (Mainland China)

Best Production Designer
Cho Hwa-sung, ‘Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time’ (South Korea)
Bahman Ghobadi, Ali Daryai, ‘Rhino Season’ (Iraqi Kurdistan/Turkey)
Wasiq Khan, ‘Gangs of Wasseypur, Part 1 & 2′ (India)
Man Lim-chung, ‘The Silent War’ (Mainland China/Hong Kong)
Yee Chung-man, Eric Lam Chi-kiu, ‘The Last Tycoon’ (Mainland China/Hong Kong)

Best Composer
Pritam Chakraborty, ‘Barfi!’ (India)
Jo Yeong-wook, ‘Nameless Gangster: Rules of the Time’ (South Korea)
Peyman Yazdanian, Johann Johannsson, ‘Mystery’ (Mainland China)
Keiichi Suzuki, ‘Outrage Beyond’ (Japan)
Koji Ueno, ‘The Floating Castle’ (Japan)

Best Editor
Takeshi Kitano, Yoshinori Ohta, ‘Outrage Beyond’ (Japan)
Mototaka Kusakabe, ‘The Kirishima Thing’ (Japan)
Valerie Loiseleux, ‘Rhino Season’ (Iraqi Kurdistan/Turkey)
David Richardson, Allen Leung, ‘Drug War’ (Mainland China)
Shin Min-kyung, ‘The Thieves’ (South Korea)

Best Visual Effects
Chas Chau, Lewis Chan, Benson Poon, Johnny Lin, ‘When a Wolf Falls in Love With a Sheep’ (Taiwan)
Kwak Tae-yong, Hwang Hyokyun, Lim Jung-hoon, ‘Doomsday Book’ (South Korea)
Farbod Khoshtinat, ‘Rhino Season’ (Iraqi Kurdistan/Turkey)
Lee In-ho, Je Young-ho, ‘Soar Into the Sun’ (South Korea)
Katsuro Onoue, Tetsuo Oya, Atsuki Sato, Minami Tsujino, ‘The Floating Castle’ (Japan)

Best Costume Designer
Chen Xue-bing, Zhong Jia-ni, ‘The Last Supper’ (Mainland China)
Jessie Dai Mei-ling, Chan Chi-man, ‘The Last Tycoon’ (Mainland China/Hong Kong)
Kwak Jung-ae, ‘A Werewolf Boy’ (South Korea)
Man Lim-chung, ‘The Silent War’ (Mainland China/Hong Kong)
Mitsuru Otsuka, Kazuta Matsunaga, Akihiko Inamura, ‘The Floating Castle’ (Japan)

Also, check out the nomination trailer below.

Asian Film Awards


Allpopasia.com brings you all the latest in Asian entertainment and pop culture. We bring you fresh contents from the web about almost everything from Musicjpop, kpop, jrock; Anime news and updates; Manga news; Asian TV and Movie news including kdrama, jdrama, etc.; Asian technology and trends news; and a lot more!

related posts

Miss A Releases new...

Posted on Mar - 31 - 2015

0 Comment

Psy’s new M/V entitled...

Posted on Mar - 29 - 2015

0 Comment

ONE OK ROCK 2014...

Posted on Mar - 25 - 2015

0 Comment

VAMPS Asia Tour 2015...

Posted on Mar - 18 - 2015

0 Comment

No public Twitter messages.